East Lochaber Community Trust

About East Lochaber Community Trust

When we realised in 2016 that Rio Tinto Aluminium intended to sell, it became clear that an option that included a community company could form part of the solution to retain the Fort William smelter in operation, particularly if that company could act along with others that had the expertise to successfully own and operate the smelter and hydropower assets, allowing the community to derive the benefit and income from owning the land. We took forward such a joint proposal and also made our own bid for the land which unfortunately was unsuccessful and the GFG Alliance took over the entirety in November 2016.  

Nevertheless, given the strong encouragement of the Scottish Government which had negotiated an Undertaking from the GFG Alliance to enter into community land transactions in relation to significant portions of the Estate, we decided to continue and have tried to remain engaged with Jahama Highland Estates over the past few years.     

The East Lochaber and Laggan* Community Trust (the Trust), which is a company limited by guarantee, was formed originally to benefit the community of East Lochaber and Laggan, being the community council areas of Laggan*; Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry; Inverlochy and Torlundy; Caol; Kilmallie; Fort William; Nether Lochaber, Glencoe and Glen Etive and Kinlochleven (the Community).

Laggan was removed from the benefit area following a vote in Autumn 2021 but the objects of the Trust remain the same. 

The Trust’s aim is to ensure that the long term benefits – economic, social and environmental – are maximised for the benefit of local people and the nation, specifically:

To manage community land and associated assets for the benefit of the Community and the public in general;

To advance community development, including urban or rural regeneration within the Community;

To advance environmental protection or improvement including preservation, sustainable development and conservation of the natural environment, the maintenance, improvement or provision of environmental amenities for the Community and/or the preservation of buildings or sites of architectural, historic or other importance to the Community.

Anyone aged 16 or over, living in the defined community area and on the electoral register may become an Ordinary member of the Trust here. Those living outwith that area may become Associate members here. Those aged from 12 to 15 can become Junior members here. There are also downloadable forms on the News pages.

The membership sets the strategic direction of the Trust and elects a seven director Board with powers to co-opt a further two. There are also categories of membership for Juniors and Associates that are non-voting. The Articles of Association, which can be viewed here, do not allow members or directors any financial benefit from the activities of the Trust; profits go back into the operation or for community good.

The current directors are: John Hutchison (Chair), Patricia Jordan and Flora McKee. In the normal way, directors will stand down by rotation at annual general meetings and the future directors will be elected by the members.

This is a major land asset and the potential for the community is extraordinary. The challenge remains in how to take forward a successful bid and then bring together a diversity of views and opinions on how the entire land and any properties can be owned and managed for the greatest benefit to the people of East Lochaber. We are encouraging the community to get behind the Trust by becoming members and to explore how such an enterprise might best be taken forward.